Playing it safe at Safeway

Passover’s coming. I know because I tried to redeem a frat party’s worth of beer bottles at the supermarket yesterday, and I was told that they weren’t accepting any more beer bottle returns until after passover (two weeks from now) because the Rabbinate considers beer chometz (leavened bread). Apparently once the holiday is in full swing, it’s impossible to buy any products containing yeast at the supermarket. That is, the products are there, on the shelf, covered with a sheet. If you choose to circumvent the cotton partition and bring that pocket-pack of soup crackers to the register, you will find yourself in the arms of an elderly security guard with a portable metal detector hanging off of his belt.

In other news, there are four days of digs at the end of this week, so I’m hoping to bring home some more pickled babies from the prehistoric past. On Saturday I got a chance to spend some time outside on my road bike, and biked a beautiful route that my marine biology professor recommended. I started out coasting down Freud street at around 80 kph, dodging Fiats and trying not to get blown into a guardrail by the sea breeze. Then I followed the old Haifa-Tel Aviv road past farms, cow pastures, beaches and wildflower meadows to the Oren interchange near Atlit. After swerving around some sort of pit viper sunning itself on the highway shoulder, I turned left off of road # 4 towards the Mount Carmel National Forest. The road past this point heads up up up up upstream along the narrow riverbed of a brook that carves its way through Edenic mountain valleys and evergreen stands to the top of Mount Carmel. From the radio tower at the summit, all that remains is a lightspeed descent to the University and the city center beyond. I’ll snap some photos next time.

Also: Look! New Poems in Progress! 

~ by jonlib on March 25, 2007.

One Response to “Playing it safe at Safeway”

  1. Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

Leave a Reply

 
